The TIAFT Achievement Award is bestowed upon TIAFT members who are recognized for their outstanding achievements in forensic toxicology through their scientific activities and outputs.

For full info, please download
TIAFT Achievement award handbook

Introduction – TIAFT Achievement Award

In 2001 the executive committee of TIAFT decided that an award be given to individuals at the mid-point of their scientific career.

This award would serve a number of objectives. The award is to acknowledge the significant contribution to the scientific literature of a scientist who has produced seminal papers that have shaped our understanding of our discipline. The award seeks to not only identify individuals who have a strong publication record, but who have also contributed significantly to TIAFT. This may be in the capacity of a meeting host, a TIAFT Board member, a longstanding TIAFT member and also one who regularly provides articles and contributions to the TIAFT bulletin and who also has contributed to the various committees of TIAFT. The TIAFT Achievement award seeks to also encourage scientists in the mid-point of their career to continue their contribution to forensic toxicology.

To assist in the implementation of this Award, the Chair is required to appoint a Committee of at least five persons, including the Chair that represents at least four continents and the members are individually known for their strong scientific achievements in forensic toxicology. The committee is chaired by the immediate past president of the Association.

Eligibility and evaluation criteria

The recipient must be a TIAFT member under 46 years of age by December 31st of the year that the award is given and have been an active member of the Association.

The most important criterion is the scientific track record of the candidate in the field of forensic toxicology. This includes number and merit of publications, scientific presentations at national and international conferences, including the annual TIAFT meeting. Impact factors of journals and the Hirsch Index are useful criteria for evaluation.


A call for nominations is made in the TIAFT Bulletin and web site early in the year of the award being given. All submissions are made to the chair of the Awards Committee and must be made two months prior to the annual TIAFT conference.

Members are invited to submit nominations, accompanied by a written statement of the accomplishments of the individual and a curriculum vitae of the candidate to the Chair of the Awards Committee. All nominations are treated confidentially. At least 3 nominations must be received before evaluating the nominees. If fewer than 3 nominations are received, the committee can add nominees.

The Committee judges the nominations based on the evaluation criteria, eligibility and makes a recommendation to the TIAFT Board. The TIAFT Board is required to endorse, or not endorse, the recommendation. If the recommendation is not endorsed by the TIAFT Board, the chair of the committee is then required to submit a further nomination to the TIAFT Board. The committee chair or the President announces the winner of the Award at the annual TIAFT Meeting


The award consists of a memento engraved with the name of the award and the awardee's name and a certificate of achievement.

Previous awardees:

  • 2019 - Luca Morini, Italy
  • 2018 - Marta Concheiro, Spain/USA
  • 2017 - Sarah Wille, Belgium
  • 2016 - Helena Teixeira, Portugal
  • 2015 - Markus R. Meyer, Germany
  • 2014 - Sooyeun Lee, South Korea
  • 2013 - Volker Auwärter, Germany
  • 2012 - Dimitri Gerostamoulos, Australia
  • 2011 - Frank Peters, Germany
  • 2010 - Simona Pichini, Italy
  • 2009 - Robert Kronstrand, Sweden
  • 2008 - Aldo Polettini, Italy
  • 2007 - Yasuo Seto, Japan
  • 2006 - Ilkka Ojanperä, Finland
  • 2005 - Frank Musshoff, Bonn, Germany
  • 2004 - Bruce Goldberger, Jacksonville, FL, USA
  • 2003 - Barry Logan, Seattle, WA, USA
  • 2002 - Alain Verstraete, Ghent, Belgium
  • 2001 - Pascal Kintz, Strasbourg, France